Join the Eau Claire Area Chamber today!
Home of Eau Claire Area Chamber Website
Facebook Twitter

Live and Work in Eau Claire

Photo of Eau Claire, Wisconsin

Government in Eau Claire

Eau Claire City Hall The City of Eau Claire, Wisconsin is governed by an 11-member, non-partisan city council under the council-manager form of government.  Legislative meetings and public hearings take place in the City Council Chambers at City Hall, located at 203 South Farwell Street. The Council appoints and works with the City Manager to operate city services and programs. To carry out the tasks set by the Council, the City Manager also hires and manages City staff.

Adjacent to the City of Eau Claire is the City of Altoona, which has a population of nearly approximately 7,000. A mayor and six councilpersons who are elected for two-year terms govern the City of Altoona.

 Eau Claire County is home to three cities, two villages and 13 towns with a total population of approximately 100,000.

The L.E. Phillips Memorial Public Library is near City Hall in downtown Eau Claire and is the largest public library in west central Wisconsin. In addition to the thousands of materials ranging from art prints to books, newspapers, magazines, CDs and DVDs, the library offers numerous programs for adults, youth and children.

If you would are interested in a list of local, state and federal elected officials, please visit the Chamber’s Governmental Affairs page.